As a lactation consultant I have to question the study about the peppermint gel or water applied topically to prevent nipple cracking and pain. Nursing mothers who were participating in an experiment on the excretion of 1,8-cineole (eucalyptol) in breastmilk took a 100 mg capsule of 1,8-cineole orally. Law and the manufacturer thereafter agrees or is ordered to buy back the vehicle Lemon Law Arbitration the meringue cookies. Peppermint tea can help freshen breath and even is an anti-microbial agent in the mouth. A (very) preliminary search did not turn up much – I looked through many of the Eclectic & Physiomedicalist texts on Henriette’s Herbal homepage, in Mrs. Grieve’s Modern Herbal and so forth – none mention this use. Peppermint and sage are both herbs that can *decrease* the milk supply. Learn more…. Everything in moderation. Everyone is different, of course. In Nature’s Children Juliette de Bairacli Levi mentions using “mints” during weaning, but that’s all I could find. My story isn’t as simple as theirs, though. Even after adding those, there wasn’t much change. Mint and breastfeeding ~ Peppermint is known to decrease supply, but as soon as it is out of your system, your milk supply should increase to normal again. I used peppermint essential oil to wean my baby quickly when we went on a vacation to southern Utah. Doctors recommend avoiding excess consumption of peppermint tea while nursing, as it reduces the breast milk supply. Drinking peppermint tea can help freshen a person’s breath, and it may … Is It Safe To Take Painkillers While Breastfeeding? Only 1 cup a night before bed and LO (little one) has been feeding on both side and wanting to be fed in different positions. Peppermint tea helps to relieve heartburn, stomach pain, nausea, and/or gas. It is a caffeine free tea, and also low in tannins to impose no side effects on both mother and her baby. Medicinal forms. When you are a nursing mother, it is advisable to avoid the intake of peppermint tea un